Final thoughts

This course has opened my eyes and made me think about a lot of things that I have taken for granted in the past.

The advancements in media and technology over the past decade are astounding. And just thinking about what has been achieved in the last 10 years has me very nervous and excited to see where we will be in another 10 years. Will we be driving around in our self driven cars while fighting zombies in our virtual reality game ? When you think about it the possibility of this being a reality doesn’t seem that far off when you consider the technology that is already being worked on. It’s crazy to think about how our children and children’s children will be receiving their education. Will they still be reading books or will books have been replaced altogether. Will us as a society be able to keep up and adapt to the rapid advancements? Studies are already showing strong side affects of humans staying in a virtual world for too long. Is this something we will adapt to or something we will have to figure out how to work around?

The discussions we have been having in class have been eye-opening into everyone’s thoughts and opinions about what the future for media, technology and society hold.

I guess I have to agree with post digital people but only because I am scared of the digital. I have seen the way digital has taken a hold of my life and how it will affect my future career after Uni. And it has made me sacred. Don’t get me wrong I think media and technology is great and has its advantages, but I am not completely sold on the utopian view of it. But on the other hand I am not of the belief that life-like robots will take over the world and destroy mankind either. I guess this course has been a great way to measure up the positives and negatives. As media students heading out in the media workforce I think it is important to think about the many differing affects these future advancements will have on society.

I guess what I am trying to say is that this picture below perfectly depicts how I have felt continually throughout this subject and how I will continue to feel as I watch to world of Media rapidly progress in front of my very eyes!

 

62821409.jpg

Reference:

Davies, Russell (2011) ‘Again with the Post-digital’, semi-retiring, November 21, <http://russelldavies.typepad.com/planning/2011/11/i-first-talked-about-post-digital-at-an-event-called-thinking-digital-in-2009-in-gateshead-looking-back-thats-probably-wh.html>

Florian Cramer (2014) ‘What is Post-digital?’, hz journal, <http://www.hz-journal.org/n19/cramer.html>

Image created at: https://memegenerator.net/instance/62821409

 

Leave a Reply

